top of page
  • sanchopanzalit

Bankrupt

Lili Fishman


I drop kisses on your lips

like dimes in a collection tin.

Slip coins between your teeth

five cents per lip,

the cheapest kissing booth.

The silver scrapes your gums

as it slides to rest

underneath your tongue.

Nickels make homes on the roof of your mouth

when I kiss you goodbye in the morning.

Pennies line your molars,

copper shavings swallowed every time

you bite down.


You choke

on my next deposit. Fine,

let’s crack them open. And so,

I pry apart your jaws.

Mouth heavy with metal

the first alloy rolls out of the silver sluice

inviting its allies to join, a mass

clinking and glinting on the floor,

my kisses reduced to loose change.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Dialogue of Broken Lights

Oscar P. McHale I heard the silence of the houses, where the midnight foxes scarpered and let loose their vacant calls. I stumbled through haze in closeted alleys, they were endless, and I found no an

Las Cocinas 

Stephanie Suarez Mami no se queda en un hogar por mucho tiempo. La necesidad la llama a otro lugar--pero, en mi mente, hay cositas que saben sobrevivir. Grandma's Country Crock, brown plastic containe

To Touch the Dying

Noelle Paek I never understood how the body needs a beating to feel alive. Pain blesses with pleasure hammered meat tastes the best and god likes his children tender before they’re delivered to heaven

bottom of page