top of page
  • sanchopanzalit

I am making up this memory

Edwina Trentham


of my mother, long-limbed, half-smiling,

standing in sun-spangled water up

to her waist. She is lowering me

gently into the warm Bermuda sea,

her right hand firm under my back,

her left one cupping my small head.

I am almost one, and this is the first

swim of my life, so she wants to see

my eyes startle with delight, to watch

my clenched fists fly open, wants to feel

the swirl of my dark hair floating,

sliding cool between her fingers.


In this made up memory our gazes

are locked—like all those paintings

where mother and child stare deep

into each other’s eyes, can’t bear

to look away, they are so much in love.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Dialogue of Broken Lights

Oscar P. McHale I heard the silence of the houses, where the midnight foxes scarpered and let loose their vacant calls. I stumbled through haze in closeted alleys, they were endless, and I found no an

Las Cocinas 

Stephanie Suarez Mami no se queda en un hogar por mucho tiempo. La necesidad la llama a otro lugar--pero, en mi mente, hay cositas que saben sobrevivir. Grandma's Country Crock, brown plastic containe

To Touch the Dying

Noelle Paek I never understood how the body needs a beating to feel alive. Pain blesses with pleasure hammered meat tastes the best and god likes his children tender before they’re delivered to heaven

bottom of page