top of page
  • sanchopanzalit

One More Summer Night

Natalie Schriefer

When the streetlights flashed on,

sky bruising with twilight,

my brother and I took turns

launching a tennis ball into the air,

high as we could. That was when

the bats swooped in, investigating,

flitting away before the ball

bounced down. Crickets chirped

and we laughed, my brother and I,

the two of us together, as we threw

the ball again and again, bats careening

and squeaking, the world simple

and alive, blooming between us,

the power wire a thin black line

against the aching lilac sky.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Dialogue of Broken Lights

Oscar P. McHale I heard the silence of the houses, where the midnight foxes scarpered and let loose their vacant calls. I stumbled through haze in closeted alleys, they were endless, and I found no an

Las Cocinas 

Stephanie Suarez Mami no se queda en un hogar por mucho tiempo. La necesidad la llama a otro lugar--pero, en mi mente, hay cositas que saben sobrevivir. Grandma's Country Crock, brown plastic containe

To Touch the Dying

Noelle Paek I never understood how the body needs a beating to feel alive. Pain blesses with pleasure hammered meat tastes the best and god likes his children tender before they’re delivered to heaven

bottom of page