top of page
  • sanchopanzalit

Soon, She Said

Bruce Cohen


“And immediately


Rather than words comes the thought of high windows:”

--Philip Larkin


We’d recently relocated from Oakland

& it was the first time, in decades, I’d driven

In snow. On this rural road in Coventry,


(The town established in 1712), slick & unplowed,

I semi-crashed into a snow bank, one tire submerged

In a shallow creek, the windshield cracked. I hadn’t


Even gotten around to buying a pair of winter gloves

Yet. These were pre-cell phone days. I glared

At my immobile automobile when an American truck,


A Chevy, stopped. A guy slammed his door, declared

I needed help. I shrugged at the obvious as he wedged

A two-by-four under my front tires, giving me traction


To get back on the road. I didn’t mean to insult him

By reaching into my pocket. We’re friends now,

He said, as he absorbed a second too long my expired


California license plate. I didn’t know it then but

Our sons were the same age, went to school

Together, same sports teams, Boy Scout troop.


By the next autumn we had a father-son sleepover in

An unseaworthy battleship at Battleship Cove: the reward,

A lousy merit badge mothers sewed crookedly on their boys’


Uniforms. Bob & I violated the Scout Code by smuggling

In nips: Bacardi for him, Johnny Walker for me, while

Responsible dads debated techniques of various knots


& ways to safely deep fry turkeys in metal trash cans.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Dialogue of Broken Lights

Oscar P. McHale I heard the silence of the houses, where the midnight foxes scarpered and let loose their vacant calls. I stumbled through haze in closeted alleys, they were endless, and I found no an

Las Cocinas 

Stephanie Suarez Mami no se queda en un hogar por mucho tiempo. La necesidad la llama a otro lugar--pero, en mi mente, hay cositas que saben sobrevivir. Grandma's Country Crock, brown plastic containe

To Touch the Dying

Noelle Paek I never understood how the body needs a beating to feel alive. Pain blesses with pleasure hammered meat tastes the best and god likes his children tender before they’re delivered to heaven

bottom of page