top of page
  • sanchopanzalit

Things You Don’t Know

Mary Lee-Slade


You didn’t know I was looking the night

I saw you naked in the baby bath.

My lungs were full of Scottish sea air and

unable to sleep, I snuck out of bed

and tiptoed to the camper’s stable door.


My stubby fingers clutched the fiberglass

as I took in your sideways-zed-shaped form.

Your hair-covered knees grazed your grizzly beard

and your cracked, tobacco-stained fingers fought

to contain them in the pink plastic mould.


Mum’s cheerful chuckles had tempted me out

from my sleeping bag to investigate.

And there in the torch-lit canvas awning,

hovering over you with a suddy sponge,

her laughter lines carved out her happiness.


You’ll never know how much that moment meant

or how she’ll never smile like that again.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Dialogue of Broken Lights

Oscar P. McHale I heard the silence of the houses, where the midnight foxes scarpered and let loose their vacant calls. I stumbled through haze in closeted alleys, they were endless, and I found no an

Las Cocinas 

Stephanie Suarez Mami no se queda en un hogar por mucho tiempo. La necesidad la llama a otro lugar--pero, en mi mente, hay cositas que saben sobrevivir. Grandma's Country Crock, brown plastic containe

To Touch the Dying

Noelle Paek I never understood how the body needs a beating to feel alive. Pain blesses with pleasure hammered meat tastes the best and god likes his children tender before they’re delivered to heaven

bottom of page